How to Accomplish A Healthy Work Life Balance Part II:

In my last post I began discussing work life balance and some things you can do to start down that path to guide you in a positive direction. I haven’t always been the best at separating the two, but I can tell you that once I’ve refocused on what is truly more valuable to me, my overall happiness has increased. Sure I still have some rough days, but who doesn’t. The thing is you have to get after it and push yourself in order to benefit yourself, family and your profession. It will help you in the long run to focus in on maintaining a healthy work life balance both for your sanity and overall health and well-being.

Switch It Up: Routines are not a bad thing and I have a few, especially to start my day and really get going. However, if things start feeling repetitive or unproductive, switch it up and do things a little differently. Get some more or less face-to-face time with the people you work with, shut off your phone so you can focus on a project or family for that matter, or even wake up earlier in the day and take a moment for yourself and have a good cup of coffee. Plan some new activity to do in your free time with your friends and/or family.  Take a look at Leading the Life You Want: Skills for Integrating Work and Life.”

business-vision-570x350
photo credit

Look to the Future: Renew your purpose if you need to and set some goals for yourself. They don’t have to be life changing, start small and think of ways to improve your outlook moving forward. Improve your skills, experience something you’ve never done before but want to, and strive for a more fulfilling life. My mentor told me recently and roughly said, “in pursuit of your goals there will be obstructions that block your view and distract you from seeing your goal/s, you have to get past them and re-focus.” Make a list and get it done.

Stop Comparing Your Vision to Others: What works for someone else may not work for you, however it’s not a bad idea to ask for help to get started on your work life balance. Look for inspiration from others that seem to have it all figured out, such as co-workers or fellow peers, as they may be “a storehouse of great tips on how to greater balance ourselves.” My supervisor is my mentor and great person to bounce ideas off of when I feel I’m in a rut or stressed and vice versa. Find a mentor is what I would suggest as they are a great source of knowledge.

What’s your ideal work life balance? Everyone is unique, so find what works for you and get after it.

Feature Image Photo Credit:

2 thoughts on “How to Accomplish A Healthy Work Life Balance Part II:”

    1. Thanks for the comment Jody! I agree, took me a minute as well and am happier now for incorporating into my life. The main idea that keeps me in line is to think family first, especially when I get really busy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

